Bookmark :

South Western Districts

1958-03 As a result of a tour through the Cape Province made by Peter Louw, Vice-President of the South African Non-European Golf Union, in 1958 a non-European golf club was formed in Oudtshoorn.   Peter Louw was a tireless worker for the development of the game amongst the non-white community right round the country and he did more than anyone to spread the golfing gospel.   He played a very special and important role which needs to be recognised.
1963-02 In 1963 the South Western Districts Non-European Golf Association staged its first ever tournament on the grass course of the Oudtshoorn Golf Club.  It was a triple tournament; the SWD Open, the SWD Closed and the Oudtshoorn Closed Championships.  Thirty one players from Cape Town ,Worcester, Albertinia, Mossel Bay and Oudtshoorn took part.  The event was a precursor to the Coloured National Championships starting in Port Elizabeth the following week.  In the SWD Open J Baxter, Non-European Karoo Champion, had the best score of 157 after two rounds but M Prince of Cape Town played superbly to pick up eight shots on Baxter and to win by five on a score of 316.   The SWD Closed was won by L Miller of Albertinia (340) from G Carelse of Oudtshoorn (348)  and the Oudtshoorn Closed was won by J Rensburg (346) from S du Plessis (350).   Speaking at the prize-giving, Carl Kleinschmidt, President of the SWD Golf Union, complimented the players on their sportsmanship.  Peter Louw, Vice-President of the SA N-E GU, replied by thanking the local golf club for the use of their course.
1965-08 A major non-white event was played at Mossel Bay in 1965, seemingly a local championship as opposed to the SWD championship.   It was played over 36 holes in bad weather which did much to make scoring difficult.   There was a big entry from Cape Town, the winning scores being made by golfers from the Mother City.  H Downes (77 82  -  159) won after a tie with A van Rooyen.  The closed title was won by J Williams (Mossel Bay) on 162 with R Moolman on 168 runner-up.   The course was made available by the Mossel Bay GC and officials of the Southern Cape Golf Union helped with the running of the event.  Again there is no mention of permits.