Bookmark :


1970 - SA Open Championship

Played at Royal Durban
Winner: T Horton (UK)
Runner Up: T Westbrook (Rhod)
Score: 285

History was made when the SA Open was played at Royal Durban and won by T Horton (285), the first overseas player ever to do so. Runner-up was T Westbrook (288) and he was followed by A Henning and T Britz, both on 289. Gary Player was a long way back on 294. This ended his succession of SA Open titles. There was a strong representation of overseas players in the field.